Government website of Jordan used for phishing
27/05/2009 Written by Boris Mutina (minor)
The phishing scams are quite common in our mailboxes, among them PayPal related are the ones most used and the less to be believed. Anyway it might appear to be useful to observe those scams and thanks to this one of the latest phishing attempts appeared to be really interesting.
Following scam email was delivered to our mailbox:
Dear Member,
This is your official notification from PayPal Inc. that the service(s) listed below will be deactivated and deleted if not renewed immediately. Previous notifications have been sent to the Billing Contact assigned to this account. As the Primary Contact, you must renew the service(s) listed below or it will be deactivated and deleted.
Renew Now your Online Account and Debit Card services.
SERVICE: Online Account and Debit Card.
EXPIRATION: May, 27 2009
Thank you for using Online Account.
We appreciate your business and the opportunity to serve you.
PayPal Inc.
*****************************************************************************
IMPORTANT MEMBER SERVICE INFORMATION
*****************************************************************************
Please do not reply to this message. For any inquiries, contact Member Service.
Copyright © 1999 – 2007 PayPal. All rights reserved.
A link in this email pointed to the following URL:
http://www.vtc.gov.jo/accounts.paypal.us/www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr/cmd=_login-run/

Yes, you’re right, the phishing scam appears to be located on government website of the Hashemite Kingdom of Jordan. When we realized this we had several thoughts. DNS hijacking was not the case, Netcraft recorded the website about one year ago on IP_212.118.8.52, which we also discovered by now.
Anyway, the Netcraft claimed, the website is powered by IIS6, which can be easily proven by Google by searching for any pages from this website (they apparently used ASP.NET).
If you try to open any document from the search results, you will get the 404, everything vanished… and server is Apache on win32?!?

By observing the behavior of the phishing scam activities we also found out where our “credit card data” should travel to. Attempting to tamper the post request revealed email address:
jauclair@afllp.com

…which is not unknown — there already was at least one phishing scam connected with this email address. Unfortunately we cannot read about it online anymore, CastleCops, the volunteer website that recorded similar phishing case doesn’t work anymore. By the way, they were hit by PayPal related attack targeted on their reputation.
http://news.zdnet.co.uk/security/0,1000000189,39289509,00.htm
Our final result on this case could be this:
As we told already before, compromised servers will be less used for putting defacements on them, they will be misused for spreading of the malware, the phishing scams and other criminal activities. This happened also in this case: we believe that the server has been compromised by the attackers, IIS has been suspended, data was removed and scammer’s tools and fake website files were mounted on it (Apache). Since such scams do not last for ever, in next days the phishing page disappears from the server and regular content will be mounted.
This time it was yet another phishing attack. Compromised webserver belonging to the government could be used for attacking users on many different ways, not just like that. Thanks God.
Share this content: | |||
|
|||






